# 5<sup>th</sup> July 1970

NATAL MOTOR SPORT UNION



## NATAL WINTER MOTOR RACES



ROY HESKETH CIRCUIT

PIETERMARITZBURG

SUNDAY, 5th JULY, 1970

ez endi dae vor hour sucke pechendar auntili

OFFICIAL PROGRAMME

PRICE: THIRTY CENTS

EVENT No. 4 2.15 p.m.

### DICKIE DALE TROPHY - 250 cc CLASS

No.	Entrant/Rider	Machine	cc	Domicile
1	Grand Prix Den/J. Boshoff	Yamaha	246	Boksburg
2	H. Boshoff	Yamaha	249	Boksburg
2 3	Criterion Motors/S. T. van Rooyen	Suzuki	247	Benoni
4	G. Cannon/P. Aitken	Yamaha	250	Westville
5	K. Zeeman	Yamaha	250	Johannesburg
7	J. Ekerold	Yamaha	250	Durban
9	G. Rowlands	Yamaha	250	Durban
10	R. W. Baker	Yamaha	246	Uitenhage
14	A. Harris	Yamaha	250	Bulawayo
15	D. Searle	Yamaha	248	East London
16	B. Harradine	Suzuki	247	Durban
17	B. Emslin/O. Howard	Yamaha	250	Salisbury
19	B. S. Simpson	Yamaha	246	Pinetown
20	J. Peter	Yamaha	250	Pretoria
21	P. Bell	Yamaha	25C	Johannesburg
23	Jack Gray Motor-Cycles/R. Borain	Yamaha	24€	Pietermaritzburg
24	M. W. Crawford	Suzuki	250	Florida Park
25	L. J. Klaver	Yamaha	246	Pretoria
26	P. Eberhardt	Yamaha	250	Port Elizabeth
27	F. Tofts	Suzuki	250	Durban
28	B. Thomas	Yamaha	250	Durban
30	F. Jackson	Yamaha	246	East London
31	K. J. Thomas/C. Duffield	Yamaha	250	Durban
32	B. Spring	Suzuki	250	Pietermaritzburg
1 33	P. Read	Yamaha	250	United Kingdom
36	T. Potgieter	Suzuki	250	Durban
37	I. Burne	Suzuki	250	Durban
111	I. S. Gray	Yamaco	250	Salisbury

#### Pen Pictures

ALBERTO PAGANI is 31 and comes from a racing family for his father Nollo was a works rider for Gilera and MV, and was eventually the stater's team manager, so much seprement has been handed down to Alberto.

Alberto is married (to Fank Perris's sister-in-law), and has a four-year-old daughter, the started racing in 1956 on a 155c ok MV and in that year wors the jurior littles netamploanship. In 1967, he was second in the 350 cc world championship, and tost year wors the 500 cc class in the tallan TT. Goty fre will be mounted as a two-jox Linto, which, with Fank Findley, he hepper to devolety.

PHIL READ is the only aversess rider competing today who has previously ridden at Roy Hesketh circuit, and that was nearly a decade ago. In 1968, he won a doubte crown when he took both the 128 cc and 250 cc championships, beating Jim Redman in the latter.

18 laps — 51.8 kilos (32.4 miles)

At Roy Hesketh he will be seen on a Yamaha TD2 plus a TR3, but, it is believed, he will be riding a 500 cc Spanish Ossa in this year's world series. Recent successes include 250 cc and 350 cc wins in the Italian GP on Yamahas, and beeiing Agostini on the 350 cc MV at Brand's Hatch.

#### DICKIE DALE TROPHY - 350 cc CLASS

No.	Entrant/Rider	Machine	cc	Domicile
11	G. Cannon/P. Aitken	Perris/Yamaha	350	Westville
40	G. Downing/C. Southon	AJS	349	Salisbury
41	Barney Emslin/O. Howard	Yamaha	350	Salisbury
42	Grand Prix Den/J. Boshoff	Yamaha	349	Boksburg
43	H. N. Ballington	Honda	325	Pietermaritzburg
44	H. Hutchence	AIS	350	Durban
45	J. D. Whyte	Ducati/Desmo	340	Salisbury
46	G. Rowlands	Bridgestone	350	Durban
47	F. E. van Niekerk	Yamaha	350	Germiston
49	J. Findlay	Yamaha	350	United Kingdom
50	S. D. Stace	Suzuki	256	Johannesburg
52	P. Read	Yamaha	350	United Kingdom
53	R. van der Berg	BSA	348	East London
54	P. J. van Hees/G. van Hees	Honda	350	Welkom
55	D. Schafer	Yamaha	350	Durban
56	B. Symons	Honda	325	Pietermaritzburg
58	K. Zeeman	Yamaha	350	Johannesburg
63	K. J. Thomas	Bridgestone	348	Durban
65	M. Dancer	Yamaha	350	Edenvale
68	N. W. Meyer	Peerless/Suzuki	315	Kloof
206	D. D. Smith	Yamaha	350	Pretoria
	S. J. Hastings	Yamaha	350	Salisbury

#### ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Dunlop - Tyres Arkite Industrials S.A. (PMB) (Pty) Ltd — Fire Fighting Castrol — Service

S.A. Red Cross — First Aid Charlie Young (Pty) Ltd. — Posters E. G. Kerby — Omega

Ford Motor Company of South Africa

EVENT No. 3 12.30 p.m.

18 laps — 51.8 kilos (32.4 miles)

12 laps -- 34.6 kilos (21.6 miles)

#### DICKIE DALE TROPHY - 1000 cc CLASS

No.	Entrant/Rider	Machine	cc	Domicile
35	M. Grant	Honda	750	Pietermaritzburg
51	A. Pagani	Linto	500	Italy
67	V. Burger	Triton	650	East London
70	E. Cowan	Arter/Commando	750	Johannesburg
71	Criterion Motors/G. Cruse	Suzuki	500	Springs
72	K. Petersen	Triumph/Metisse	750	Salisbury
73	G. Cannon/P. Aitken	Dunstall/Metisse	750	Westville
74	M. Duncan	Triumph Sp.	510	Edenvale
75	C. Brook	Tribsa	650	East London
76	A. Durham	Norton	498	Johannesburg
77	C. Campbell	Norton	650	Germiston
78	G. L. Boniface	Triton	650	Northdene
79	N. B. Riddell	Norton/Metisse	745	Edenvale
80	G. Agostini	M.V. Augusta	500	Italy
81	S. D. Stace	Kawasaki	498	Johannesburg
82	E. W. Bello	Trijay	750	Germiston
83	T. J. J. Crawford	DKW/Norton	930	Florida Park
84	R. de Lange	Norton	750	Johannesburg
85	K. Crawford	Triumph	650	Durban
86	P. Shaw	Triton	500	Harding
87	D. Engelbrecht	Matchless	49€	Felixton
88	H. Murray (Pty) Ltd./G. Murray	Kennedy/Lyster	650	Denver
89	H. Sommerhalder	Matchless	497	Cape Town
90	P. J. van Hees/W. Walker	Kawasaki	498	Welkom
91	L. Ogden	Tribsa	499	Bulawayo
92	B. M. White	Triumph	498	Port Elizabeth
93	K. van Zyl	Norton/Dunstall	750	East London
94	J. R. Galway	Matchless	650	Germiston
95	A. Pagani	Linto	500	Italy
96	Jack Gray Motor Cycles/M. Grant	Honda	736	Pietermaritzburg
98	A. F. Farley	Triumph	650	Germiston
104	MECO/J. D. Surmon	Meco/Trident	750	Germiston
207	T. E. Fox	Norton	650	Salisbury

CASTROL PRODUCTION MOTOR-CYCLE RACE

No.	Entrant/Rider	Machine	cc	Domicile
Class B:				
10	R. Lamb	Suzuki	200	Durban
Class C:				
4	K. J. Thomas	Yamaha	250	Durban
11	C. J. Cairns	Yamaha	250	Pietermaritzburg
16	Shimwell Bros./G. Borcherds	BSA	250	Pietermaritzburg
23	H. Bancroft	Suzuki	250	Durban
28	D. B. Kenney	Yamaha	250	Durban
29	D. A. Brunton	Suzuki	250	Durban
33	B. J. Spring	Suzuki	249	Pietermaritzburg
Class D:				
6	A. G. Jones	Yamaha	350	Durban
21	J. Robertson	Honda	350	Kloof
30	G. Rowlands	Bridgestone	350	Durban
31	Team Honda/T. Soars.	Honda	325	East London
34	A. P. Rodger	Yamaha	350	Durban
58	Shimwell Bros./M. Grant	Honda	324	Pietermaritzburg
80	Team Honda/C. Crous	Honda	325	East London
81	P. Stephenson	Kawasaki	350	Johannesburg
Class E				
8	H. N. Ballington	Kamasaki	50C	Pietermaritzburg
19	P. S. Tiedt	Alpet/Suzuki	50C	Durban
20	E. Cowan	Kawasaki	500	Transvaal
25	H. Bancroft	Kawasaki	500	Durban
27	Honda House/J. Jolly	Honda	444	Durban
57	S, Thompson	Kawasaki	50C	Durban
59	W. A. Shearer	Suzuki	492	Johannesburg
Class F:				
26	J. L. Barnes	Triumph	650	Durban
36	V. Burger	Honda	750	East London
37	Shimwell Bros./R. Milsom	BSA	650	Pietermaritzburg